Ministry of Advanced Education

Education Quality Assurance - EQA

UPDATE (April 10, 2014)

All post-secondary institutions and language schools that accept international students for study programs of longer than six months will be required to have British Columbia’s Education Quality Assurance (EQA) designation in order to be on the "ISP Designated List."

The EQA designation requirement will be phased in over 18 months. Schools and institutions will have until December 31, 2015 to take the necessary steps to achieve the EQA designation. Further details, including transition period requirements are outlined on the Ministry of Advanced Education's International Student Program webpage.

All institutions are encouraged to review the details and begin required actions as soon as possible.

Notes: Institutions wishing to host international students (who do not require study permits) for 6 months or less are not required to be on the list.

This applies to all post-secondary institutions. It does not apply to schools offering only kindergarten to Grade 12 curricula.

Please submit any questions to

Education Quality AssuranceThe Education Quality Assurance (EQA) designation is British Columbia’s brand for quality post-secondary education. EQA is a voluntary mechanism available to all eligible post-secondary institutions in B.C.

The EQA designation is also used to promote B.C. as an education destination of choice and enables both domestic and international students to easily recognize institutions that meet or exceed quality assurance standards that government recognizes.

The Ministry of Advanced Education is responsible for establishing the EQA designation policy, which includes setting acceptable quality assurance standards. The Ministry is also responsible for determining whether an institution will be granted or maintain the EQA designation, including permission to use the EQA certification mark.

The EQA designation requirements have been revised to include the British Columbia Criteria for International Student Program Designation. These Criteria assure the integrity of the ISP, and enhance British Columbia's standing as a destination of choice for international students seeking a quality education.

Please review the revised EQA Policy and Procedures manual for details on specific institutional eligibility requirements, including recognized quality assurance standards.

Further information on the EQA designation application process and registry of EQA designated institutions can be found at the BC Council for International Education website.

Quality Assurance Framework Consultations

Find out more about system-wide discussions to strengthen and streamline quality assurance in BC's post-secondary education system.