Ministry of Advanced Education

Degree Authorization

Institutions Not Authorized to offer Degree Level Programming or Grant Degrees in British Columbia

The following list of institutions that do not have authority under the British Columbia Degree Authorization Act. This list is maintained by the Ministry of Advanced Education for the protection of the citizens of British Columbia and current and prospective students.  The institutions on the list have claimed to provide a program leading to a degree or grant degrees in or from British Columbia.

  • Alternative Medicine Research Institute
  • American Liberty University
  • American University of London (Kingston College)
  • Armstrong University
  • Asia Pacific International Graduate School of Management
  • Aureus University School of Medicine (Aureus Academic Centre Surrey)
  • Austin College
  • Bible University
  • Bircham International University
  • Brainwells University
  • Brixton University
  • Canada International Education Center
  • Canada Princeton College
  • Canadian College of Management and Technology
  • Canadian Institute of English
  • Can-National Business College (formerly Canada Institute of Business & Technology and HGK International Institute of Business & Technology)
  • Caribbean Medical University (Trillium Medical Education Consultants)
  • Covenant Life College
  • Distance Learning University
  • European Graduate School (Vancouver School of Bodywork & Massage; Vancouver School of Expressive Arts Therapy)
  • Generale Polytechnic Institute
  • Generale University
  • George Washington University Inc
  • Information University of America
  • International Academic Correspondence Inc.
  • Kennedy Open University
  • Manhattan University
  • Merlion International University
  • Mission Institute of Canada
  • Mission Institute of Distance Education
  • Montreal International Center for Management (MICM)
  • Neurontology University
  • Newton University
  • Rutherford University
  • Saint Michael University
  • Senior University Inc.
  • Southern College British Columbia
  • Stanton University
  • Stratford International University
  • The Distance University
  • The Open University of America
  • University Consortium International Inc.
  • University of Northern Washington
  • University of NorthWest
  • Vancouver University Worldwide
  • Washington College & University
  • Western Imperial College of Canada
  • Weston Reserve University
  • Windsor Education Academy, Inc.
  • Yoga University

This is not a comprehensive list and new institutions claiming a connection to British Columbia can emerge at any time. Anyone with information, questions or concerns about the authority of any institution claiming to offer degree programs and operate in or from British Columbia may contact the Ministry at (250) 356-5406 or

A list of institutions and degree programs that are authorized in British Columbia is available here. This list is continually updated as new institutions and degree programs receive authority from the Minister.

Degree Authorization for Private Institutions or institutions from other Jurisdictions in British Columbia

Post-secondary institutions are authorized to operate according to the legislation established in each province in Canada. In British Columbia, the Degree Authorization Act (DAA) requires private and out-of-province public post-secondary institutions to receive consent from the Minister of Advanced Education before they provide, advertise or grant degrees, or use the word "university" for educational purposes in British Columbia.

Institutions wishing to apply for consent to offer degrees and operate in or from British Columbia must undergo a quality assessment process and meet established criteria prior to the Minister granting consent. Further information is available here.

The Education Quality Assurance (EQA) designation is British Columbia's brand for quality post-secondary education. EQA is a voluntary mechanism available to all eligible post-secondary institutions in B.C. The Ministry of Advanced Education is responsible for establishing the EQA designation policy, which includes setting acceptable quality assurance standards. Further information and a list of institutions that have received EQA is available here.